Microsoft Easter Camp

As promised, I said I would be doing a post on the Microsoft Easter Camp I attended to help train other teachers to use Kodu in the classroom. Kodu is a very easy 3D game developer software that is free to download. I have in the past had year 5 students from our partner Primary Schools create interactive games. It is that easy and quick to create something in this software. This was a very fun and successful event; I met lots of other like-minded teachers who had some fantastic ideas about using ICT in the classroom.

We were also shown lots of “FREE” software, now like most teimagesachers I love that word as our department’s budget is not huge and anything that costs nothing definitely catches our eye. Although I was aware of some of the software that was available, I was surprised at how teachers were not aware of any of this software. I have decided that I will be doing a blog post series on each of these free and readily available software solutions. So please look out for these posts in the up and coming future.

Whilst at the Easter camp we were tasked with making a Kodu resource to help aid other teachers in producing something using the KODU software. I decided to make an Innovid on how to create a 2 player Kodu football game where users just use one X-Box 360 controller. In case you didn’t realise you can plug an X-Box 360 controller into your PC or Laptop and it will work with Kodu. If you ever want to see how quickly a 3D game can be made just download Kodu, plug in an X-Box 360 controller and give it to an 11 year old, fast is not the word for it. A copy of my Innovid can be seen below.

2 player Kodu game

All of the software can be found at www.pil-network.com. If you ever get chance to attend one of these events take the opportunity you will not be disappointed. Please look out for future posts on my experience at the 7th Plymouth International Enhanced Learning Conference where I will be presenting about how I use the KINECT in the classroom and my work with the K-Team on the 19/04/12. I will be also doing a blog post on a new project I am launching with a colleague Jen Dunkey @arcticdunks called the .COMmunity Project. If you are not following Jen please do as she has some amazing ideas on how to engage students.

Thanks for reading.  

One thought on “Microsoft Easter Camp

  1. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information approximately this subject for ages and yours is the greatest I have came upon so far. But, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you certain concerning the supply?

Leave a Reply

