5 Free Web Tools

Its definitely been a while since I have updated my blog. So here is the first of many updates. I was recently asked to present at a CPD session at saltash.net by our deputy head Dan Roberts or as you may know him @Chickensaltash. I was asked to talk about 5 free web tools, I thought brilliant I can talk about all the free Microsoft software out there which people might not be aware of. He then informed me that he was doing the free Microsoft software and that I was to look for some non Microsoft ones. This is not to say that there aren’t any great non Microsoft software solutions it is just in my experience that the Free Microsoft software I use is simple to use and just works!. So anyway here are the 5 free Web tools I presented:

Tag Galaxy: This is a really cool resource to find pictures simply type in what you are looking for and it will display all the pictures around a planet and associated pictures as moons. very effective when used in a lesson and way more cooler than Google images!

Wix: This is a build you own flash website tool very simple to use just drag and drop. nothing to download as it is all web based, just make sure that you have the most up to date flash player.

Windows Sky Drive: Ok, I cheated and used a Microsoft tool, but in my defence this is probably the best free tool out there you get 25GB of free storage and you can upload files up to 100mb at a time. It is also linked to a Windows Live account which if you set it up correctly you can get all of your logins to Facebook, YouTube, Slide Share, LinkedIn and many more. This is really worth a look!

Slide Share: This tool is a great place to upload and share your Power Points and videos. simple to use and it even gives you the embedding code to place your PowerPoint’s into you blog as I have above.

500px: This is one for the photographers or art students/teachers. You can upload your pictures and get them rated by professionals. This is great as you or your students can get feedback from peers and professionals. This site is relatively new as it was only launched a few months ago but already has a decent following.

If you have any questions about web tools please feel free to leave a comment and I will get back to you.

One thought on “5 Free Web Tools

  1. Pingback: Why did the Chickenman cross the road? - What is a VLE?

Leave a Reply

